Starting a New Book

SAFFRON NIGHTS is currently with Kensington, my publisher. It’s been through one round of edits. In the mean time, I’ve finished the first draft of the third book in my mystery series. I want to leave it sit for awhile and approach the next draft the freshest of eyes.

So while I have this space in time, I started a new book—the second in the romance series. I’ve been thinking about it hard. Where to set it? How to begin?

The first book included a lot of traveling and so will this one. But the beginning section begins in Equador. I like the fact that big cities are just 30 to 45 minutes away from some of the biggest cacao plantations, which is exactly what I need for my story. I also needed it to be a port city. One of my characters is “on the run.” She is fleeing for her life. I don’t want to give too much away. But there it is. A port city is needed.

The two main characters in this book are Sanj and “Mary.”  (That’s not her real name, but she’s adopted it.) They were both secondary characters in SAFFRON NIGHTS. Sanj is from India, a physician who deep down wants to be a pastry chef. “Mary” is British, an ex-prostitute, and dominatrix, with a drug habit she’s trying to kick and a new life she is starting by scratch.

They meet in a restaurant/bar in Guayaquil, both new in town and of course, sparks fly.

So this morning, I wrote about 2000 words on this new book. It feel so good to start a new book. Like a world of possibilities just opens in your mind. I love the challenge of building suspense into a romance and keeping the balance just so. But I have to admit, I’m really looking forward to the sex scenes between Sanj and “Mary.” heh.

One thought on “Starting a New Book

Leave a Reply

